Know your bucket list and DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT!

Perhaps that’s the biggest learning that I derived from my solo backpacking trip. Some of us might still  be in the stage of discovering their passion in life, some on the other hand has already figured it out but still trapped in a situation that they cannot fulfill it, and for the more fortunate or should I say smarter ones, they already discovered their passion in life and is living it!

If travelling is in your bucket list, why not do something about it?  More often than not, we find reasons not to do it than reasons to do it. If you’re this kind, then maybe you need to sit back and reflect again if indeed it’s your passion, or maybe you need to strengthen your desire for it.

As for me, I already knew I love travelling, but it wasn’t an easy discovery for me. 5 years back I have so many things I want to do in life, but most of the time I end up doing something just because I need to. I always work for money back then, being a bread winner of the family didn’t give me much room to follow my passion.

Then bam! I had the turning point of my life, that i’m no longer getting younger and that I need to be somewhere that will lead me to fulfilling and focusing on something, hence my decision to sustain the fire of my travelling desire. My first step? That solo backpacking trip, and the second? this, my blog to hopefully inspire others to travel if that’s one item in their bucket list.

I know following your passion is easier said than done, limitations will always be there, my advice based from experience? “address them, you can always do something about it”. The most common limitations that I observed for one to travel are the following:

1. Financial capability – Most of us just rely on our work salaries and often than not it doesn’t suffice. But some little things can actually help. This might sound unbelievable to people who knows me, but I learned this when I was backpacking. Sacrifice some things in your life style. Allot a percentage of your salary to your travelling funds, open a separate bank account perhaps. Or try  cutting down your expenses, start with, say, your movie habits, if you watch movie 4 times a month maybe trim down to 2. Do something that can make you earn some more, instead of having coffee or buying dvds to watch over the weekend, find some online job that you can earn from, just be sure to research on the legit ones. Or you can do an online English teaching sessions that pay decent. Every week party? Going out is costly! (based from experience). Taxi, of course you have to buy drinks at times, and the most consideration, you stay up so late that you wake up so late as well, imagine those times you could have used up working on something meaningful instead. This didn’t hit me so hard until I realized I haven’t been out for almost 3 months already. I’m not saying partying is wrong, just limit it. At the end of the day, DISCIPLINE is what everyone needs to get to somewhere they really want to be in for long. As of now I’m in this process, I find disciplining myself a new adventure. Try it, it can be fun.. =)

2. Time limitation – most of us will have a maximum of 15 days vacation leave, try to plot this ahead of time and commit yourself that you will travel at this dates. It’s also good because it excites you to look forward to something, something in your year will happen.  before you knew it, you’re already checking something in your bucket list.

3. Fear – I don’t have an answer for this, instead an advice. Before I went for my solo backpacking I was reading this book entitled “5 Secrets You Must Discover Before You Die:” It’s a book about people already at the dawn of their age reflecting how they lived their life. It’s not a novel, in fact it can be a thesis of people’s life. I was greatly influenced by this book to the point that up to now I perform some of the advices there.

Here’s a short review from blogger Ben Nadel:

“According to Izzo, the interviews with the elders contained many pearls of wisdom. However, if you want to get at the most commonly held, most powerful pieces of advice, he presents the following as the five secrets you must discover before you die:

  • Be true to yourself.
  • Leave no regrets.
  • Become love.
  • Live the moment.
  • Give more than you take.

To be honest, we’ve probably heard all of these before in one form or another. A huge part of the book, however, doesn’t just concentrate on the secrets – it concentrates on reflection. It’s one thing to have a list of secrets; it another thing to actually put those secrets into action. Along with each “secret”, Izzo provides a large number of questions that one can ask themselves each week as a means to think deeply about their life and how to steer it back in the right direction.

For example:

  • Did this week or day feel like my kind of week or day?
  • What would make tomorrow or next week feel more true?
  • Was I the kind of person I want to be this week?
  • In what ways do I want to be more like the person I want to be tomorrow?
  • Am I following my heart right now?
  • What would it mean for me to really follow my heart right now?

more of this here:

http://www.bennadel.com/blog/2279-The-Five-Secrets-You-Must-Discover-Before-You-Die-By-John-Izzo.htm

